At each conference, ICMC makes awards in two categories: 

The Lifetime Achievement Award that recognizes a lifetime’s achievement in advancing the knowledge of cryogenic materials through the quality and innovative nature of the recipients work. The award also recognizes the impact the recipient has had on their field of work and their worldwide reputation. 

The nomination procedure for all ICMC awards is demanding and the ICMC Awards Committee rigorously assesses all nominations. ICMC is pleased to announce that from an outstanding list of nominated persons, the recipient of this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award is Professor Archie Campbell.

Archie Campbell

Archie Campbell
Professor of Electromagnetism
University of Cambridge
Department of Engineering
United Kingdom

Archie Campbell is being recognized for his outstanding contributions over the last half century to the vortex physics, AC loss, magnetization, and materials science of both high and low Tc type II superconductors. 

The Cryogenic Materials Award for Excellence, intended for a person under the age of 40 at the date of the conference, to recognize his or her excellence in advancing the knowledge of cryogenic materials over recent years. The award is based on the innovative nature and impact the awardee has had on their field of work, together with the International reputation the awardee has gained in recent times.  

From a strong field of possible contenders for this award, the ICMC Awards Committee found two exceptional candidates, both well deserving of this award. Therefore, exceptionally, ICMC will this year be making two awards in this category and is delighted to announce that the two awardees are Dr. Anna Kario and Assoc. Prof. Akiyasu Yamamoto: 

Dr. Anna Kario

Dr. Anna Kario 
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

Anna Kario is being recognized for her pioneering development of advanced REBCO Roebel cables.

Akiyasu Yamamoto  

Akiyasu Yamamoto
Associate Professor 
Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology

Aki Yamamoto is being recognized for his research on MgB2 and Fe-based superconductors, in particular BaFe2As2.


The Mendelssohn Award 

ICEC sponsors the Mendelssohn Award, presented to an outstanding person on the occasion of each ICEC Conference, selected by their work in cryogenic engineering.  The Award was established in memory of Kurt Mendelssohn (1906-1982), founder of ICEC Committee.  The recipient of this year’s Mendelssohn Award is Professor Fons de Waele of Eindhoven University.

2  During his extensive career, Fons has truly made an outstanding contribution in cryogenics, in research, teaching, training, mentoring, advising, writing, organising events at home and abroad.  Previous Award winners, including Sir Martin Wood and Professor Ralph Scurlock from UK  can be found on the ICEC website  

The Klipping Award 

The International Cryogenic Engineering Committee awards a young (max 35 years) researcher for outstanding work in cryogenic engineering. The award is named after Gustav and Ingrid Klipping to commemorate their enormous contributions to the field of cryogenics and more specifically to recognize their active role in involving young researchers. This year’s winner of the Gustav & Ingrid Klipping Award is Dr Jingyuan Xu, from the Technical Institute of Physics & Chemistry at the Chinese Academy of Science in Beijing. 

1  Dr Xu was an outstanding candidate, with an extremely impressive, recoding formidable achievements by every measure, be it patents or publications or participation in conferences; Dr Xu will be spending “post-Doc” time at the University of Cambridge.

Previous Award winners are: Y. Huang, H. Cao.

Outlook Outlook
iCal iCal
Google Google
Yahoo! Yahoo!